Let us briefly review the seven stages of grief and consider the important role of loss counselling. First, there is an initial stage of shock. Not surprisingly, people who cannot come to terms with this shock will resort to denial. While denial is common in the beginning, it is not a practical means of dealing with grief. Unfortunately, for some people denial can last a lifetime, and bring a lot of misery to the sufferer.

The next stage in grief and loss counselling is that of pain and guilt. We very often blame ourselves when tragedy strikes, wondering what we could have done to change the future. When people are unable to take the pain they very often resort to drugs or alcohol. Deadening the pain, however, is not a healthy solution.

The next stage is anger and bargaining. We rant and rave when we are unhappy; sometimes we may even try bargaining, with a friend or an acquaintance, or even with God. How often have you heard or perhaps said, “If you bring her back, I promise I will never…”

The next stage in coping with grief is depression and reflection. This is perhaps the darkest stage yet and one of the most difficult moods to escape. In order for you to reach the next three stages (which are respectively, the upward turn, reconstruction and acceptance), you must first identify the positives and learn coping mechanisms. You must approach the coping process with a productive strategy in mind, and this is not always easy.

Understand that the majority of people suffering from emotional trauma will be unable to overcome grief without professional help. If you are looking for counselling in Bentleigh or counselling in Bayside then there are plenty of opportunities available to you. You can overcome this grief—no matter how devastated you may feel for the time being.

I want an…

Therapists who do online

  • Adam Szmerling
  • Carolina Selvarajoo
  • Humaira Ansari
  • Kelli Tranter
  • Lawrence Akers
  • Natalie Szmerling

Therapists who do in-clinic

  • Adam Szmerling
  • Natalie Szmerling